Skip navigation

I’ve decided to take another swing at the nation card game from Challenge #6.  I was unable to mock-up all of the cards, but I instead created a percentage table for each card.  My printer has stopped working, so I’ll have to figure out what I’m going to do for the tables and what not.

Basically, I’m planning on implementing the changes I had outlined from the end of the playtesting for Challenge #6 and trying to card balances right.  Also, I’m trying to think of another dimension that I can lay on top of the game.  I was thinking maybe having Government cards that include things like “Democracy”, “Theocracy”, or “Communist” that have specific advantages and disadvantages.  These would help to make the play experience that much more unique and allow for some extra choices.

2 Comments

  1. Kyle,

    Glad to hear the modifications to your game have been going well. You should take more detailed observations of the play sessions. Look for how the players play your game. What kind of strategies do they use? Do they try to find loopholes? Does one strategy appear to be more dominant than another?

    Also, do not lose sight of the goal of the game. What message do you hope your players will get out of the game? What will they learn by experiencing your game as a simulation? How might this affect their view of the world? And how well is this expressed in your game?

    -Devin Monnens

    • Roucis Kyle
    • Posted March 31, 2009 at 20:53
    • Permalink

    Unfortunately, not many more things surfaced in this last playtest except for the reception of the added cards. Also, this particular playtest was tough because I wasn’t using cards when they would have really streamlined things. I will be sure to include details about observed player roles and strategies in future posts.

    Most of the goal of the game and the message behind it was detailed in the Challenge #6 description that I posted some time back. However, you’re right, I should be making sure that the intended message was conveyed by asking players on a regular basis.

    Thanks for the tips! Keep those comments rolling in!


Leave a Reply

