Skip navigation

The reason why I haven’t posted anything in the last few days is I’m stumped.  I’m bewildered.  I’m fresh out of ideas for this challenge.  I tried to make the business card game fun and interesting, but the goal is unclear, the mechanics are difficult, and I don’t think it would be much fun.  I’m officially raising the white flag on this one.

Even if I did decide to do something related to Dr. King, what?  Should I do a board game?  Should I do a card game?  How should the players progress and what would be an interesting and compelling goal for a game like that?

Ugh, I’m out of ideas.  I’m gonna have to show up to class today with pretty much nothing and ask for help.  A sad state for certain, but I suspect it has happened to more successful people than myself.  I’ll be sure to let you guys know what I come up with.

3 Comments

    • Max Esayev
    • Posted February 17, 2009 at 04:57
    • Permalink

    How about a non-competitive game in which players pass around a progressive story(about a dream?), adding onto it without knowing the majority of it first. (perhaps just the previous line in the story)
    To spice things up and keep with the ‘dream’ theme, you can have random ideas or words that the players draw from a pool that represent topics that they have to include in their writing.
    Oooh, this sounds like a fun drinking game.

    • Roucis Kyle
    • Posted February 17, 2009 at 08:22
    • Permalink

    I had something similar in mind with the Mad Libs style game, but that is a toy, not a game. There is no goal or purpose, no conflict, no winner and loser. Some would argue that these things do not strictly classify a game, but I believe they do. Thanks, though. Yeah, we came to the conclusion that 90% of all these dream games would be even more fun with booze.

  1. Kyle,

    Sorry to hear you got tanked on the challenge! If you want to pursue a game about King, why don’t you check out the Values at Play arcade?

    http://www.bettergamecontest.org/

    If you play these games, you may get some ideas.

    Ian Bogost specializes in rhetorical games:

    http://www.watercoolergames.com

    His book, Persuasive Games, is fantastic, but he’s got a few articles online to go with his games.

    How do his games create messages? He takes a similar approach to Jason Rohrer, whose Passage game we saw in class. Rohrer likes to have each component of his game symbolize something, just as Ian likes to have his rules and how the system operates reinforce or explore a worldview.

    Also, check out the Grow A Game cards (I was going to have sets printed out, but alas, not enough time before class!):

    http://www.valuesatplay.org/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/grow-a-game_overview.pdf
    http://www.valuesatplay.org/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/grow-a-game_instructions.pdf
    http://valuesatplay.org/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/gagcardsexpanded.zip

    Don’t get discouraged. Take a break and play some of these games. Then take another break and go for a walk so you can think on it. If you’re still stumped, you can always work on some iPhone stuff. (BTW, check the other comments I made on your Boarding game today).

    Bring in something we can play on Monday and you’ll do fine.

    Devin Monnens


Leave a Reply

