Skip navigation

Well, turns out that even if I could get this working with Apple’s NSOpenGLView, that I can’t superimpose a button on top of such a view.  So…I will be forced to do my own GUI setup.  I can’t say I’m surprised, but it’s certainly something I wish I didn’t have to do.  Fortunately, I have parts of the Cocoa API to help me out.

First up, however, is to fix texture loading issues.  Who’d have thought that reading in texture data would be so complicated and convoluted?  Oi.  I digress.  Onto GUI programming!

2 Comments

    • Max Esayev
    • Posted February 7, 2009 at 15:39
    • Permalink

    Good luck Kyle! It sounds like you’re building this thing from the ground up. Tools to build your tools, so to speak. I’m rooting for you.

    P.S. Nice title, I lol’d.

    • Roucis Kyle
    • Posted February 8, 2009 at 00:55
    • Permalink

    Thanks! Yep, I started it almost 5 months ago and I have a basic physics engine, a (very) basic rendering engine, a game logic abstraction, and some scripting stuff. It’s coming along quite nicely, but it’s going to take a LOT more effort than I had originally imagined. But, it will be worth it in the end, one way or another. Thanks for the encouragement, Max! We should COD4 again sometime soon.


Leave a Reply

