Skip navigation

A quick update on my game engine (did I forget to mention: I’m building a game engine) and the particle engine in specific:

My particle engine is not cooperating.  I finally have point sprites working, but loading in new textures for the sources corrupts my particle textures AND the source textures, so I’m at a total loss.  All attempts to start the engine over have failed for seemingly no reason, so I’m chopping up my original test to make it work better.  It seems that I will have to step back and redesign the architecture (again).

On a lighter note, I figure the particle engine is mostly fluff at this point, so game prototyping and stress testing will begin shortly.  I have many things I’d like to get in place before I start building real demo games, but simple prototypes will be small enough and simple enough to be able to ignore many of these improvements.

Wow, I’m really in over my head with this one, but the sense of achievement is unparalleled.  Anyway, I hope to have some news on the engine later (for those of you who care…).

2 Comments

    • Max Esayev
    • Posted February 5, 2009 at 17:18
    • Permalink

    This is exactly why, out of all my friends that want to do game design, I have the most faith in you. You actually sit down and crank it out.
    It’s a lot like writing (and any other creative career endeavor), so many people have ideas, but so few actually act on them. That’s why there will always be a market for driven people.

    • Roucis Kyle
    • Posted February 5, 2009 at 23:54
    • Permalink

    Thanks, Max! That means a lot to me. It’s like I’ve always said: If you have passion, you can do anything. Thanks again, Max!


Leave a Reply

